March 15, 2024
a 2 i m libera awards 2024 lifetime achievement honoree Louis Posen founder of Hopeless Records 1993

New York, NY (February 14, 2024) – The A2IM Libera Awards is the largest celebration of independent music in the world, set to take place this year on Monday, June 10 at New York City’s Gotham Hall. The gala dinner, with an open bar and incredible performances from a diverse range of artists, is open to the public. Tickets are on sale here.

Recognizing achievements across 38 categories, The Libera Awards embodies the spirit of independence by honoring those whose creative endeavors have not only challenged the status quo but have reshaped the landscape of the independent music community. The 13th annual event will toast the power of artistic freedom, where the most forward-thinking and groundbreaking artists and organizations are acknowledged and celebrated for their invaluable contributions to the industry.

This year, the Libera Awards will honor Louis Posen, founder of Hopeless Records for the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing his exceptional contributions, accomplishments, philanthropy, and outstanding leadership in the independent sector.

As a board member for the Worldwide Independent Network (WIN), Merlin, and a two-time board member for A2IM, Posen has stood at the forefront of high-level advocacy efforts within the United States and internationally. Even beyond these roles, Posen’s commitment to making a positive community impact is showcased through large-scale projects like Sub City, a non-profit project of The Hopeless Foundation that connects artists and their fans with charitable causes they are passionate about. As this year’s Lifetime Achievement honoree, Posen’s proactive approach to solving community issues is a true testament to his character and to the spirit of the Libera Awards.
This year, the California-based Hopeless Records celebrates its 30-year anniversary. Over the last three decades, founder Posen has turned a bedroom label into one of the most successful companies in independent music, with several Top Ten Billboard albums, millions of records sold, including Gold and Platinum certified records, and over 400 releases. Founded by Posen as an excuse to release a seven-inch by the band Guttermouth, the label spent much of the 90s catering to the prominent pop punk and ska craze with a short roster that included 88 Fingers Louie, Dillinger Four, and Mustard Plug. As the community shifted, so did the label roster with artists like Thrice, Avenged Sevenfold, All Time Low, Taking Back Sunday, Yellowcard, New Found Glory, and soon fostered emerging artists like Neck Deep, The Wonder Years, and Stand Atlantic. Artists like Scene Queen, Tx2, LØLØ, NOAHFINNCE, Sweet Pill, and more now comprise a roster of artists who are forging a new path for the label driven by diversity, digital-first content, and a unique perspective on the ever-evolving landscape of alternative music.

This year’s A2IM Libera Awards will celebrate Louis Posen with the A2IM Lifetime Achievement Award,” says Dr. Richard James Burgess, MBE, President, and CEO of A2IM. “Louis is the pioneering force behind Hopeless Records and his Sub City charity. We acknowledge Louis’s contributions to music and his active role on the boards of A2IM, Merlin, and WIN, furthering the causes of the independent recorded music community. Louis’s dedication to nurturing artists and leveraging music for social change underscores his commitment to our industry and epitomizes the power of combining passion with purpose. Louis is a vital advocate for independent music, vigorously championing the causes he believes in. We salute Louis for his continued commitment to the independent sector and to community empowerment.

What an unbelievable honor to be in the same company as some of my mentors and favorite labels. I know this award is not about me! It’s about our amazing artists, team, partners, and the support of the independent music community who have played a part in these first 30 years of Hopeless. Hopeless is motivated by a purpose greater than ourselves. We strive to make decisions through the lens of our principles and surround ourselves with great people. This honor feels like a reflection of that approach. Thank you to the entire independent music community. Especially A2IM, whose amazing work promoting and protecting the value of independent music has created an industry environment where independent artists and companies like Hopeless can thrive.” said Posen. [Photo]

Previous A2IM Lifetime Achievement winners include Martin Mills (Beggars Group), Tom Silverman (Tommy Boy Records), Bruce Iglauer (Alligator Records), Patricia Chin (VP Records), Mike Curb (Curb Records), Ani DiFranco (Righteous Babe Records), Brett Gurewitz (Epitaph/ANTI-), Jonathan Poneman (Sub Pop), Seymour Stein (Sire Records) and Al Bell, Estelle Axton, Jim Stewart, and Deanie Parker (Stax Records).

About A2IM:

A2IM is a 501(c)(6) not-for-profit trade organization headquartered in New York City that exists to support and strengthen the independent recorded music sector. Membership currently includes a broad coalition of more than 700 Independently-owned American music labels. A2IM represents these independently owned small and medium-sized enterprises’ (SMEs) interests in the marketplace, in the media, on Capitol Hill, and as part of the global music community. In doing so, it supports a key segment of America’s creative class that represents America’s diverse musical cultural heritage. Billboard Magazine identified the Independent music label sector as 37.32 percent of the music industry’s U.S. recorded music sales market in 2016 based on copyright ownership, making Independent labels collectively the largest music industry sector.