Libera Awards

Independent music encompasses all genres and styles; it is without constraints, breaks barriers and shatters through glass ceilings. The annual A2IM Libera Awards honors both independent musicians as well as the teams that support them.  The Libera Awards exists to recognize the powerful voice of the independent sector. Now in its 13th year, the Libera Award is the premier celebration of independent music. This year the Libera Awards will be presented live on Monday, June 10, 2024 at Gotham Hall in New York City.

“The Libera Awards show is the biggest night of the year for independent music. An opportunity to celebrate the incredible talent, diversity, creativity, and hard work that takes place throughout the year. And an opportunity for us all to gather in one place and embrace the strength of our community,” says Dr. Richard James Burgess, MBE, President, and CEO of A2IM. “We are thrilled to add three new categories to the 2024 awards, to further shine a spotlight on the depth and breadth of the independent sector. We look forward to seeing and celebrating those nominated in the weeks ahead.” 

The Libera Award is produced by the American Association of Independent Music, better known as A2IM, a not-for-profit trade association that represents independent music recording owners. With 800 music companies in our community, A2IM works every day to provide education, opportunities, and community spaces for our members. Most importantly, A2IM advocates for music owners on a policy level to ensure fair compensation for their work. Learn more and join us at a2im.org.

Sunflower Bean at the A2IM Libera Awards

Past Libera Awards Performers

Immeasurable talent has graced our stage. This includes Aimee Mann, Alejandro Escovedo, Ani DiFranco, Arlo Parks, Big Thief, Black Pumas, Brittany Howard, Cautious Clay, Charles Bradley, Dap-Kings, Dawn Richard + Spencer Zahn, Deva Mahal, Fantastic Negrito, Funky 4+1, Gaby Moreno, Hannibal Buress (Eshu Tune), Helado Negro, IDLES, Japanese Breakfast, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Jean Michel Blais, John Prine, Julia Jacklin, Lecrae, Lido Pimienta Mac DeMarco, Madlib, Margo Price, Martha Reeves, Mavis Staples, Natalie Prass, Naughty by Nature, Nick Hakim, Nick Lowe, Nosaj Thing, Orville Peck, Phoebe Bridgers, Raul Midon, Salt Cathedral, Sam Outlaw, Sammy Rae and the Friends, Seratones, Shemekia Copeland, Stax Academy Rhythm Section, Sudan Archives, Sunflower Bean, Sun Ra Arkestra, Suzanne Ciani, Tamtam, Talib Kweli, Terri Lynne Carrington & Social Science, Torres, Tré Burt, Twin Peaks, Vicktor Taiwo, Wyclef Jean, and Yuna.